Our approach at North Nibley Pre School is that children learn through play.  Research has shown that play helps young children to learn and develop through thinking, doing and talking.

The provision for children's development and learning is guided by the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).


The Early Years Foundation stage (EYFS) is made up of seven areas of learning and development. All areas are equally important and depend on each other to support child development.All areas are delivered through planned, purposeful play, with a balance of adult led and child initiated activities. There is equal emphasis on indoor and outdoor learning.

The EYFS frame work became statutory in 2008 and has been periodically updated.  The last revision was September 2021.

1) Personal Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

This focuses on children learning to make relationships with other children and with adults, self confidence and self awareness and managing feelings and behaviour.

We will ensure support for your children’s emotional well being to help them know themselves and what they are capable of.


2) Communication and Language (CL)

This area focuses on children’s listening and attention skills, their understanding skills and their speaking skills

We will give your children opportunity and encouragement to use their skills in a range of situations and for a range of purposes, and be supported in developing their confidence and disposition to do so.


3) Physical Development (PD)

In this area children develop moving and handling skills and also think about health and self-care.

We will give your children opportunities to take part in and understand why physical activity is important and help them to understand the importance of healthy food choices.


4) Understanding the world (UW)

This focuses on children having understanding of people and communities, the world and technology.

We will ensure opportunities to enable your children to encounter things in their natural environment from people, plants animals and objects. Also experience real life situations and experiment with different materials to explore their world. We will also use a range of current technological devices to support their learning.


5) Mathematics (M)

This area covers mathematical development and provides the foundations for numeracy.

We will provide opportunities to practice and extend your children’s skills in these areas, and to gain confidence and competence in their use.


6) Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

This focuses on the development of the children’s imagination, their ability to communicate and express ideas and feeling in a creative way.

We will provide your children with opportunities to explore their thoughts, feelings and ideas through creative work. We will provide a range of materials and media for the children to explore and use.


7) Literacy (L)

This focuses on the development of children’s reading and writing skills.

We will provide opportunities to practice and extend your children’s early writing and reading skills through a rich range of topics and activities.